• BytesNBolts
  • Posts
  • I Am Launching Bytes&Bolts on Product Hunt Today and I Need Your Support

I Am Launching Bytes&Bolts on Product Hunt Today and I Need Your Support

Dear Investor,

I'm launching Bytes & Bolts newsletter on Product Hunt. Your support can help me find and spotlight promising early-stage startups and give them the exposure they deserve.

Marko here from Berlin, Germany, a first-time tech startup founder with an MSc in architecture. I want to share a story on why I decided to help other early-stage AI & Robotics founders get noticed by you, a network of ~5K VCs and angel investors through my Bytes&Bolts Newsletter. 

Fundraising Is Tough

Raising money for my startup was a nightmare. I had zero connections with you and no clue how fundraising worked. I did almost everything wrong, from researching VCs and angel investors, to sending cold emails, and LinkedIn messages. It was rough, ineffective, and honestly embarrassing.

After months of trial and error, we finally secured a 100K EUR equity-free grant. Not a VC but it’s free money!

Fundraising Is Like Dating

There are lots of meetings where you put yourself out there before you score.

I was thinking, If I'm facing these issues, other founders are too. Being deep in the startup community, I've seen many struggle to raise money, especially in the pre-seed phases.

No traction means no money unless you have a strong background or pedigree, like an ex-BCG consultant. Honestly, I don't get it. I've talked to many of these “consultant” guys, and they're often boring and uncreative. Yet, they bring value somehow. Why?

The Origin Story: 

I was already giving feedback to you through a newsletter, but I got an idea: why not include fellow founders and help them get funded? I decided to focus on the fields I love, AI and Robotics, and shine a spotlight on the startups I find interesting. I thought, why not flip the game and have you reach out to them?

The idea was to create a newsletter that is both humorous and informative, with a playful jab at the VC lifestyle—think Patagonia vests and biohacking. I started featuring friends from Antler and Xpreneurs accelerators, but soon word spread, and I began receiving inbound requests. Turns out, poking fun at VCs while showcasing amazing startups was a hit!

PSA: German VCs might miss the humor, but everyone else loves it!

It all began as a fun hobby but I knew I was onto something when the founders told me you started reaching out after reading my newsletter. Thank you!

Do You Have Any Cool Startups Fundraising?

If you have any cool startups in your portfolio that are raising their next round, let me know, and I'll give you a special deal.

Btw, feel free to share this link with your startup founders, they might help me on Product Hunt.

Here's my ask:

Let's bring in some awesome sponsors for the newsletter! Think biohacking tools, cold plunges, saunas, 8sleep, and more—stuff VCs will love. With the right sponsors, I can keep focusing on featuring the best early-stage AI & Robotics startups to you.

If you have a great sponsor idea or know someone who fits the bill, let's connect and make this a win for everyone! Especially me! 🙂 

Feedback Needed

P.S. Do you think this angle brings any value? Your feedback could help me shape the direction of this newsletter. Thank you!

Let’s connect on LinkedIn

Reply

or to participate.